Kent County Council local elections take place next Thursday

PUBLISHED: 10:02 29 April 2013 | UPDATED: 17:34 29 April 2013

The local election will be taking place this Thursday as Dartford and Gravesham residents have the opportunity to decide who represents them at Kent County Council level.

A total of 11 seats are available, across nine wards. Dartford East, Dartford West, Dartford North East, Swanscombe and Greenhithe, Dartford Rural and Wilmington all have one seat available. Gravesham East has two, Gravesham Rural one and Northfleet and Gravesend West two.

The most hotly contested seat will be Swanscombe and Greenhithe, which has six candidates running for it.

UKIP is fielding candidates in all but one ward, Gravesham Rural, while the English Democrats will be represented everywhere except Dartford North East.

Other marginal parties represented include the BNP, in Dartford North East and Swanscombe and Greenhithe, and Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts, in Gravesham East.

Labour and the Conservatives will be represented in all wards, the former with the Labour and Co-operative Party.

The Reporter will be live tweeting the results from Dartford and Gravesham on Friday – follow us @northkentnews



  • Gareth Johnson (Con) 25,670
  • Simon Thomson (Lab) 13,325
  • Elizabeth Jones (Ukip) 10,434
  • Simon Beard (Lib Dem) 1,454
  • Andy Blatchford (Green) 1,324
  • Steve Uncles (Eng Dem) 211

Majority: 12,345


  • Adam Holloway (Con) 23,494
  • Tanmanjit Singh Dhesi (Lab) 15,114
  • Sean Marriott (Ukip) 9,306
  • Mark Lindop (Green) 1,124
  • Anne-Marie Bunting (Lib Dem) 1,111

Majority 8,830

Most read

Digital Edition

Read the Gravesend Reporter e-edition today

Newsletter Sign Up

Gravesend Reporter twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Family Notices 24

Most Read

Latest from the Gravesend Reporter

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists