Polling stations open in Dartford and Gravesham as local election begins

PUBLISHED: 06:00 02 May 2013

Polling stations across Gravesham and Dartford open this morning from 7am as voters decide who will run Kent County Council in the local election.

There 11 seats up for grabs across nine wards in the two areas, with candidates from a total of eight parties hoping for your vote.

The Conservatives and Labour are represented in the polls for all 11 seats, with the most hotly contested being Swanscombe and Greenhithe - currently represented by Richard Lees of the Swanscombe and Greenhithe Residents Association.

UKIP are expected to post a strong showing in the elections, with many expected to place a ‘protest vote’ in favour of the right-wing party.

Other margnical parties found on the ballots include the BNP, in Dartford North East and Swanscombe and Greenhithe, and Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts, in Graveshame East.

The 108 polling stations in the two areas will be open until 10pm.

You can keep up-to-date with the results from Dartford and Gravesham on Friday by following us @northkentnews.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Gravesend Reporter